Blog Post #5

For my research paper I’m exploring the use of rhetoric of the signaling involved in sports such as baseball or softball. Along with that I’m going identify the reason why these signals change but the meaning don’t from team to team. I had a very difficult time finding journals or studies on the topic but I was able to find a very intriguing article. It is called “Pitcher/ Catcher Communication: on passed balls with a runner at third base” within the article the author describe the signal between the pitcher and the catcher during a game, as well as explains the meaning behind the signal. The article specifically focus on the throwing signal between the two players and how an athlete would practice such signal. This article will be useful in my research paper when explaining the purpose of signals in a game. I would classify this text as evidence because it has very good examples of athletes signalling plays to each other rather than coaches. I do not think it belongs in background because it is not conducting research nor is it including outside research. I plan to use snippets of the article in my research paper to the include the example of the practicing of signals to show how important communication is.

Leave a comment